Being a toddler-Mama is...
Dreaming about sleeping (yes, I actually do this).
Dreaming about being tired and not being allowed to sleep (the nightmare version of the dream listed above).
Never undertaking any personal hygiene task alone.
Cold coffee.
Repeating every word spoken by a tiny human for the understanding of those around you (including your husband).
Repeating every word you speak for the understanding of the tiny human who is always around you.
Being invincible and infallible.
Memorizing every song you hear, the first time you hear it, in case she asks you to
"sing that donkey song."
"What donkey song?"
"That DONKEY one."
"Which donkey one?"
"THAAT......DONKEEEEEEEEYYYYY SOOOOOOOONG!!"
"OH! you mean the one that goes....hedde heeedy hoe Donkey, yadda yadda yoo Donkey."
"Yeah, dat one."
Constantly wondering (CONSTANTLY) if you are making the right choices for the good of an entire human being, for whom you are 100% responsible 85% of the time.
Laundry, lots, and lots, of laundry.
Perpetually choosing between things you don't really want to do, but really need to (e.g. dishes), and things you'd love to do (e.g. throwing plastic dinosaurs into a fishing net)
Throwing plastic dinosaurs into a fishing net.
Being reminded by total strangers to "Enjoy every moment because it goes so fast." while you're covered in a 2 year old's bodily fluids in the checkout line and thinking, "I know, I know! but I'm not enjoying this!"
...and feeling guilty about that.
A choice you have to make every day, because you could check out. You could spend all your time on Facebook while she watches Baby Einstein on repeat, you could ignore the dinosaurs in favor of the dishes, you could lock the door and plug your ears so you can finally shower at 3pm. But you don't, you wake up at 6, or 5, or 4:30, and drop the F bomb in the privacy of your own room before you slip into hers with a smile and a, "Good morning sunshine! How did you sleep?". You do wipe the peanut butter off your new bamboo floors and say, "It's ok sweety, it was an accident." You do give "one more" hug before leaving the room because she's afraid to take a nap. You also mess up, but you apologize to the only person you will ever know who can truly, completely, and unreservedly forgive you, because it's worth it, and even though you can't enjoy every moment, you do know that it goes so fast, and even the lousy moments are worth remembering.
What is being a toddler-Mama for you?
No comments:
Post a Comment